A Collaboration with University of Pittsburgh   

Portugal agrees to take up to 3 Guantanamo detainees

[JURIST] Portugal will accept two or three Guantanamo detainees [JURIST news archive] already cleared for release, Portuguese Foreign Minister Luis Amado [official profile] said [audio, in Portuguese] in an interview Saturday. Amado indicated that the Portuguese Ministry of Internal Affairs [official website] would have to determine the legal framework for receiving the detainees. The agreement resulted from a meeting on Friday between Amado and US Ambassador Daniel Fried [profile], the special envoy designated [press release] in March by the Obama administration to seek foreign government assistance in closing down the Guantanamo prison. In December Luis sent a letter [JURIST report] to EU foreign ministers urging EU members to take in any detainees released from the facility.

Last week the Council of the European Union [official website] and the US jointly released a statement [text, DOC; JURIST report] outlining the terms of agreement for EU countries planning to accept Guantanamo Bay [JURIST news archive] detainees, but the agreement leaves the final decision to accept detainees to each individual country. Also last week, the Italian government agreed [press conference transcript] to take in three specific Guantanamo detainees, while the Spanish government agreed to consider [JURIST news report] taking in four detainees as long as they pass security clearance and they are willing to be transferred.

Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About Paper Chase

Paper Chase is JURIST's real-time legal news service, powered by a team of 30 law student reporters and editors led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. As an educational service, Paper Chase is dedicated to presenting important legal news and materials rapidly, objectively and intelligibly in an accessible format.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.